This section in the General Preferences pane contains the “Automatically manage unused
media” checkbox. When the checkbox is selected, Motion removes unused media from
the Media list when you delete that media from the Canvas, Layers list, or Timeline. If you
want to retain (in the Media list) a copy of media that is no longer used in your project,
deselect this checkbox.